Swahili 101: Alphabet and Numbers

Swahili 101: Alphabet and Numbers

Aug 21, 2014| by administrator

The Swahili language is widely spoken across southeast Africa, and is an official language of Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. If you're traveling to a Swahili speaking country, here are a few of the basics to get you started.


A: a
B: be
C: che
D: de
E: e
F: ef
G: ge
H: he
I: i
J: je
K: ka
L: le
M: em
N: en
O: o
P: pe
R: re
S: se
T: te
U: u
V: ve
W: we
Y: ye
Z: ze


1: Moja
2: Mbili
3: Tatu
4: Nne
5: Tano
6: Sita
7: Saba
8: Nane
9: Tisa
10: Kumi
11: Kumi na moja
20: Ishirini
30: Thelathini
40: Arobaini
50: Hamsini
60: Sitini
70: Sabini
80: Themanini
90: Tisini
100: Mia

Stay tuned for part 2 to learn some greetings and questions that might be helpful during your trip.